claycreationsbydanies

My pottery creations on and off the wheel.

Why a box of matches?

Leave a comment

My beautiful, cheeky, not very well trained beagle Baxter,especially with the drop command, decided on Friday that i was not going to get “his” prized possession, a full box of matches! I don’t get it, why bite the hand that feeds him …over a box of matches of all things!!  It was only small but got far enough into the base of my thumb/palm to get the muscle infected, not a good look but responding to antibios, a wee miracle on fingolimod.

Naturally i’ve been through a raft of emotions about my baby, mostly distressing, and he has only just started sitting next to me again, he wouldn’t even sleep on the bed the first night, or even tentatively look at me till the next day, with his reaction i don’t think he meant to connect, he was just determined i wasn’t even going to try get the matches off him.

So…I have discovered there are some things i cannot do one handed, or with my left hand ie. wedge the bag of stoneware clay scraps, catch the chooks, hammer nails to finish the coop, type, have a quick shower with a broken shower head and not flood the bathroom, turn a key, knead the pizza dough for last nights dinner, start a new sculpture for the Art Waikino Award.

Deflated by a box of matches…

 

 

Author: Danielle

There are two things that without, I wouldn't recognise my life. One is my cheeky beagle Baxter who answers to all sorts of endearments starting with "B" except his actual name :-) and my pottery. They both make me happy and hopeful.

Leave a Reply

