claycreationsbydanies

My pottery creations on and off the wheel.

Lucky elephant is on duty

Leave a comment

Loaded the kiln today, the chook feeder towered over everything else and no amount of juggling and re-arranging could allow a second shelf.

So rather than waste all that space at the top of the kiln, I snuck in a broken shelf “precariously” balanced on one post!  I know it is tempting fate a bit, hence the lucky elephant being on duty! Go lucky elephant do your thing!

IMG_20160503_135458

Here is hoping I don’t end up with one gigantic sculpture from this one 🙂

Update: did something fall on it, or did I just blow the bottom element because only 5 hours into the firing the bottom element is off…holding my breath?

This one has the tiniest peephole in the side so a bit hard to see but doesn’t look like it has fallen and temp still climbing okay so taking a few tentative breaths.

This morning’s update: well nothing fell down so that’s a plus I should be able to re-fire, but couldn’t reach temperature with only one element going, only got to 800C so no glaze melt no nothing! Oh no another headache!

Thursday update: could have been worse, the relay blew on one element, but the part needs ordering so just hoping I get time to re-fire before the Riding for the Disabled Farmers Market- Waihou on Sunday!

 

Author: Danielle

There are two things that without, I wouldn't recognise my life. One is my cheeky beagle Baxter who answers to all sorts of endearments starting with "B" except his actual name :-) and my pottery. They both make me happy and hopeful.

Leave a Reply

