claycreationsbydanies

My pottery creations on and off the wheel.

One extreme to the other with the chooks!

Leave a comment

First one went off the lay and got clucky and stopped laying, so I gave it 5 fertile eggs to satisfy that urge.  That left me with one chook nesting and the other chook laying in the same nest, all good until the one chick that did hatch got pecked and didn’t make it.  So, after realising no more would hatch I removed all 10 eggs. Why 10?, because at that stage I managed to get them all mixed up, turned out only 2 had been fertilised anyway, but that happens. Only now, in the middle of spring, I have 2 chooks that are protesting the removal of said eggs and will not lay, either of them!

Author: Danielle

There are two things that without, I wouldn't recognise my life. One is my cheeky beagle Baxter who answers to all sorts of endearments starting with "B" except his actual name :-) and my pottery. They both make me happy and hopeful.

Leave a Reply

