claycreationsbydanies

My pottery creations on and off the wheel.

Magic Water to fix my pot

1 Comment

Instead of recycling this bowl, which I really love and didn’t want to give up on,  I decided to test out some magic water to fill in a crack at the leather hard, almost bone dry stage. That’s before the clay has had the first firing or bisque firing.

The magic water I made by dissolving as much Epsom salts as I could into water, this allows a really fluid solution using the minimum amount of water.  To this I added crushed dry clay, the same clay I used to make the pot and a few squares of toilet paper.

I haven’t strictly followed a recipe with this one so am hoping it works, will have to nurse it through the first firing before I know if it has taken, but so far looks okay. I’m off to open the kiln now.

DSC02443

Magic water to fix my pot, cross fingers!

Author: Danielle

There are two things that without, I wouldn't recognise my life. One is my cheeky beagle Baxter who answers to all sorts of endearments starting with "B" except his actual name :-) and my pottery. They both make me happy and hopeful.

One thought on “Magic Water to fix my pot

  1. How did this turn out?

Leave a Reply

