claycreationsbydanies

My pottery creations on and off the wheel.

An offending crack!

2 Comments

One of those offending cracks has popped out of nowhere again on one of the bowls. Rats.

crack

Tried fixing but popped up again so might not make it.

A potter’s question: did I not compress the base enuff when I attached the foot, or is it just down to handling the pot too roughly? Once I removed the foot I could see a really fine gap inside the foot where it hadn’t attached so that explains the curved crack that popped up woops.

Update: the bowl shrank somewhat, off to recycling she goes 🙂 DSC02401

Author: Danielle

There are two things that without, I wouldn't recognise my life. One is my cheeky beagle Baxter who answers to all sorts of endearments starting with "B" except his actual name :-) and my pottery. They both make me happy and hopeful.

2 thoughts on “An offending crack!

  1. I have a beautiful little jar that my late grandmother painted. It has developed a small hairline crack. Is there any way to repair something like that?

    • Hi Apple Pie, the only experience I have had is using a thing called magic water for dry pottery ie. before it is fired. It could be possible to apply a clear glaze over the piece allowing the glaze to fire into the crack making the piece stronger. Or you could DIY with a glue that bonds to ceramic. The best advice I can give you though, is to take it to your local pottery club and ask, the combined experience there will be far more than I have and would make a lovely project for them to help you with 🙂

Leave a Reply

