claycreationsbydanies

My pottery creations on and off the wheel.

Making shapes and templates for piercing.

Leave a comment

Playing around with shapes and making templates for piercing the new bowls. I try to make the hole patterns echo the curve of the bowls’ rim but not be exactly the same because i think that adds something.First, I start with a rough drawing on paper, fold and cut to get some symmetry and make sure I like the way it looks, then make a template out of clear plastic. This lets me place and group the holes in a way that suits the pot.

The first cut always looks a bit rough but as the clay begins to shrink and harden that’s when i can spend the time refining and smoothing them.

Paper templates from drawings then cut into plastic with a scalpel.

Paper templates from drawings which i then cut into plastic with a scalpel.

DSC02130

Arranged and drawn onto the pot before piercing.

Author: Danielle

There are two things that without, I wouldn't recognise my life. One is my cheeky beagle Baxter who answers to all sorts of endearments starting with "B" except his actual name :-) and my pottery. They both make me happy and hopeful.

Leave a Reply

