claycreationsbydanies

My pottery creations on and off the wheel.

Discovered…

Leave a comment

I discovered that a viscosity of 1.15 is definitely too thin for dipping, will go for 1.5 or 1.7 next time.

By the time i had dipped my totem pole pieces some of the water content had gone which helped and a longer dip on the others worked better.

The other glazes i used in this firing are better thicker so will stick with that but its a shame about the overfiring.

It seems to me to defy the logic of hot air rising, that the bottom of the kiln was hotter than the top, so i havent discovered anything here, except that next time i will pack it more evenly and hope for a more even firing.

Author: Danielle

There are two things that without, I wouldn't recognise my life. One is my cheeky beagle Baxter who answers to all sorts of endearments starting with "B" except his actual name :-) and my pottery. They both make me happy and hopeful.

Leave a Reply

