claycreationsbydanies

My pottery creations on and off the wheel.

Diane Parker workshop

Leave a comment

Great, now know what i was missing when i didnt go to the first one!  Learned a technique i havent tried using stretched slabs, powdered ball clay and lovely textures. So enjoyed it and my little success today was making the tallest object ive made.Will it survive the firing and glazing?

Image

I had begun to think the wheel and i were doomed to create nothing over 5 inches in height, that will still be true without much practice, however, todays technique was great and it has got me thinking of experimenting with combining the two maybe?

Had forgotten how much i loved doing textures because i have been focusing so much on making and layering glazes for colour which sadly ended up covering so much of the texture. Especially my attempt at majollica, which i now realise is what my eye didnt like, not being able to see the countours of the clay through the colour.

Torn between getting my hands in the clay tonight and conserving my energy for tomorrow which im also looking forward to 🙂

 

Author: Danielle

There are two things that without, I wouldn't recognise my life. One is my cheeky beagle Baxter who answers to all sorts of endearments starting with "B" except his actual name :-) and my pottery. They both make me happy and hopeful.

Leave a Reply

